2018 Tournament Highlights
Last Updated: 06/17/19

The Best of the AGC in 2018

Club Champion - Cameron Mathison

Player of the Year - Bill Fennessy

Falco Cup Champion - Cameron Mathison

Senior Club Champion - Bill Fennessy

Women’s Club Champion - Patti Brugman

Low Net Club Champion - Bill Fennessy

Low Net Senior Champion - Bob Harrison

Low Net Women’s Club Champion - Lindy Mayhew

Lowest Tournament Gross Score - 72 - Cameron Mathison (June)

Lowest Tournament Net Score - 65 - Bob Harrison (June)

Lowest Tournament Partner Gross Score - 64 - Bill Fennessy/John Kibet            (Scrambles)

Lowest Tournament Partner Net Score - 57 - Dan Laster/Jorge Visitacion (Blind Draw Better Ball)

Most Skins - 6 - (tie) Bill Fennessy & John Kibet

Most KP’s - 6 - Bob Harrison

Last Tournament of the Year

December 8, 2018

Oliva & Laster conquer A Flight; Dingle and Collins take B Flight.

The A Flight

Playing in only his fourth AGC event, new member, Giovanni Oliva was the only player to break 80, shooting a fine 77. It didn’t look like this was going to be Gio’s day as he started with a triple bogey 7 on the now easy opening hole. He eliminated some of the sting on the opening hole with a birdie on #2 and finished the front in 41 strokes. Normally a 41 on the front would leave you 3-5 shots behind 3-5 players but not on this day. He found himself just a stroke behind front nine leaders John Kibet & Dan Laster. Gio turned it on on the back nine. He birdied the 10th and 18th holes to post a even par 36 on the back and win by 3. John Kibet had a rare round in the 80s with 40/40 for second place. John is known for his strong iron play which usually results in multiple birdie opportunities but not today. Bill Fennessy went into the day leading Kibet by just 30 points in the 2018 Player of the Year contest. He knew he had to stay close to Kibet and also keep a watchful eye on the rest of the field. He made three double bogeys on the front for a 43 but rallied on the back with a 40 and finished in third place gross with enough points to win the Player of the Year Honors. Jeff Patrick wrapped up a good year with a 4th place finish after shooting 84.

As mentioned earlier Dan Laster went out in 40 but had a little trouble on the back. He opened with back to back double bogeys on 10 & 11 but settled down to shoot 83 for a net 73. It might be the first time any flight has been won with a par plus round. Dave Rimbach stayed away from any disaster holes and shot a 45/42-87 and a net 74 for second place. He was happy with a second place finish but absolutely ecstatic when he tearfully announced to the gallery that “it was the first time he had ever beaten his longtime idol…..Bob Harrison”. Jorge Visitacion played another fine round, tying Rimbach’s 74 but lost the card-off. Jorge has scored much better after eliminating the 10s or 11s from his scorecard. Se Chavez was fifth at 44/42-86 net 76. Michael Babcock and Larry Mayhugh tied at 77 and Babcock won the card-off with his 46 on the back nine.

The B Flight.

Daniel Dingle capped off a great year with the AGC by winning the low gross in the B Flight. It wasn’t his best round but his 92 was good enough for the win. He survived a 9 on hole #4 but played the other 17 holes well enough to win. Harry Daniels was four back after an opening nine of 49 but he shot a 45 on the back to pull with in 2 and took second place with a 94. He made a 4 on the last four holes to close out his round. Tim Corbett finished another 2 strokes back with a 96 and third place honors. Tim held off another Tim  by just a stroke. The strong iron player, Tim Sweetland finished with a 97 for fourth place.

Eric Collins was the only player to post an under par net score. His 69 was the best of the year for Eric and beat his closet rivals by 4 shots. Shannon Anderson finished with a one over 73 nosing out Todd Clark by a stroke. Todd’s ill timed tripe on #17 hurt his chances to finish higher but a third place finish with this group is admirable. Eric Strand finished with a 75 and he too was hurt with a late triple bogey (#18 in his case).. Eric had an easier round as he didn’t have to give swing tips like he had to last month in the blind draw tournament. Lindy Mayhew continued her consistent play and was rewarded with a 5th place finish for her 76. She beat out Bob Meyer in the card-off so Bob walked away with 6th place honors.



A Flight

B Flight


1st - $65

Gio Olivas (77)

Daniel Dingle (92)


2nd - $50

John Kibet (80)

Harry Daniels (94)


3-rd - $40

Bill Fennessy (83)

Tim Corbett (96)


4th - $30

Jeff Patrick (84)

Tim Sweetland ( 97)




1st - $65

Dan Laste (73)

Eric Collins (69)


2nd - $50

Dave Rimbach (74)

Shannon Anderson (73)


3-rd - $40

Jorge Visitacion (74)

Todd Clark (74)


4th - $30

Se Chavez (76)

Eric Strand (75)


5th - $25

Michael Babcock (77)

Lindy Mayhew (76)


6th - $20

Larry Mayhew (77)

Bob Meyer (77)




#6 -



#8 -

Larry Mayhew



Dan Laster



Dan Laster



A Flight - $12 each


B Flight - $16 each


Herb Wilson (birdie


Bob Meyer (par)


Gio Oliva (birdie)


Harry Daniels (par)


Bill Fennessy (par)


Bob Meyer (bogey)


Dan Laster (birdie)


Tim Sweetland (par)


Gio Oliva (birdie)


Todd Clark (par)


Dan Laster (birdie)


Harry Daniels (birdie)


Jeff Patrick (birdie)